Merging Pets

Modified on Fri, 7 Aug at 8:41 AM

If a profile contains duplicate pets, you can consolidate the duplicate accounts from the main client's profile. In this article, we will walk through the process of merging pets.


Things to know:

  • The ability to merge pets is governed by the "Accessing Client Records" access control setting.
  • Merging pets is a permanent decision and cannot be reversed
  • Memberships
    • When two pets are merged and each has its own membership, both memberships are automatically reassigned to the retained pet, regardless of the membership status. 
    • If Pet A has a membership and Pet B does not, and Pet B is selected as the retained pet, the membership from Pet A will automatically transfer to Pet B.


  • Packages
    • If both pets have individual packages, the package linked to the pet that is not retained will remain on the account but will no longer have an assigned owner. You will need to manually reassign that package to the retained pet.
    • If Pet A has a package and Pet B does not, and Pet B is selected as the retained pet, the package from Pet A will automatically transfer to Pet B.
  • Expiration Reminders
    • You can choose which expiration date to keep during the merge.
    • If no selection is made, the system will retain the expiration date of the retained pet by default.
  • Pet Notes
    • In the merge interface, you can choose to keep combined notes from both pets.
    • If you do not select this option, only the notes associated with the retained pet will be kept.
  • Appointments
    • All past and upcoming appointments for both pets will be retained during the merge.
    • These appointments will be updated to reflect the details of the pet you choose to keep. Example: If Pet A has appointments and you retain Pet B’s details, all of Pet A’s past and future appointments will be reassigned to Pet B.  
  • Waivers
    • If Pet A had a waiver and Pet B did not, and Pet B is retained, Pet A’s waiver will still be retained by default.
  • You can determine which pet name, gender, date of birth, notes, pet breed etc., to keep
  • If only one pet is on the account, the merge option will not be displayed  



Contents


Standard Merge Flow

  1. Go to the Clients tab
  2. Search for the primary client
  3. Open the client's profile
  4. Expand the "All Pets" menu in the top right 
  5. Click on the Merge Pets option 
  6. From the dropdown menu, choose one of the pets you want to merge
  7. Select the Next button 
  8. Choose which pets you want to merge with the initially selected one 
  9. Select the Merge Selected button at the bottom right of the page  
  10. Select the details that you want to retain  

Once you're satisfied, click Done to finish the merging or select Merge Additional Pets to include more pets in the merge.

Client-Records-MyTime__4_.png



Advanced Conflict Resolution Merge Flow 


You can configure your account to include a conflict resolution step when merging pets. This makes it clear when you are reviewing pet details versus finalizing the merge, reducing the risk of accidental mistakes. If two pet profiles have different information (like different dates of birth or breeds), you can choose exactly which details to keep before completing the process.


Things to Know

  • This feature is controlled by the "Enable Improved Children Merge UX" setting enabled. Contact MyTime team to have to enable this setting.
  • You can only merge two pet profiles at a time
  • The merge won't happen until you review and pick which pet information to keep.
  • Once a merge is complete, it cannot be undone.


Once the hidden setting is enabled, simply:

  1. Go to the Clients tab and open the owner's profile
  2. Click the All Pets menu in the top-right corner
  3. Select Merge Pets
  4. Check the boxes next to the two pets you want to combine. (Once you pick two, the other options will lock)
  5. Click the Merge Selected button at the bottom right
  6. On the conflict resolution screen, choose which details you want to retain. An informational banner at the top of the page will guide you: "X fields have conflicting values. Choose which values to keep on the merged profile. Fields without conflicts will be combined automatically." 
  7. Once your selection is finalized, click 'Merge Pets' 
  8. Review the warning pop-up carefully and click Merge Pets to confirm



Immediately after the merge is complete, a green confirmation banner will appear, confirming that the two pet profiles have been merged into one.


For more information, contact support@mytime.com


Related Articles

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article