MyTime matches client profiles and online user accounts using email addresses and first names. When a client signs up to book online—whether through the MyTime booking widget, express checkout page, or custom app—a user account is created using their email address and password. If a client uses a different email address online than the one listed in their in-store profile (or updates their email address later), a duplicate client profile is automatically created.
Maintaining a clean client database is essential for smooth daily operations. You can easily consolidate duplicate profiles from the Clients tab without losing appointment history, notes, or contact details. Depending on your account configuration, the system will guide you through either the Standard Merge Flow or the Advanced Conflict Resolution Merge Flow. This article walks you through the steps for both methods
Things to know:
- The ability to merge clients is controlled by the "Merge Clients" access control setting.
- If the Merge Clients access control is set to 'Allow for Their Location' but set to 'Block for All Locations', staff can only merge clients that belong to their assigned location(s). If they attempt to merge a client from a location they are not assigned to, or a client that has no location associated, they will see the following error message: "There was an error: You do not have permission to merge these clients." For example, if Sarah is a staff member assigned only to Location A, she can merge clients within Location A. However, if she tries to merge a client from Location A with a client from Location B—or with a client who has no location assigned—the merge will fail, and the error message will be displayed.
- The ability to utilize the advanced conflict resolution flow to merge clients is controlled by the
"Enable Improved Clients Merge UX" hidden setting that can only be enabled by the MyTime team. To enable this setting, please contact support@mytime.com.
By default, all client notes, purchase history, memberships, packages, gift cards, and labels are retained when merging client profiles. - If both client profiles have a credit card on file, only one card will be retained. The system will automatically select the card with the furthest expiration date.
- You can choose which first name, last name, phone number, email address, user account, and other details to retain on the merged profile. However, if the information is the same on the profiles being merged, it will be retained
- Email Address and User Account Retention - When merging client profiles, the system handles email addresses and user accounts as follows:
- No Profiles Are Linked to a User Account
- If none of the profiles are linked to a user account, the system will prompt you to select one email address on file to keep.
- In this case, the MyTime User Account dropdown will not appear, as there are no linked accounts.
- One Profile is Linked to a User Account
- If at least one profile is linked to a user account, you will be prompted to choose which email address on file to keep.
- The MyTime User Account dropdown will not appear, as only one profile is linked to a user account, so that will be retained by default.
- The selected email address and associated user account will be retained for online use after the merge.
- If the client later signs in using an email address that was not retained during the merge, a duplicate client profile will automatically be created in-store.
- All Profiles Are Linked to Different User Accounts
- If multiple profiles being merged are each linked to different user accounts, the system will display all associated email addresses and user accounts.
- You can select one user account and email address to retain. We recommend always keeping the same email address that is associated with the user account.
- After merging, the selected user account will remain active for online use, and the merged client profile will be linked to that account.
- If the client later signs in using a user account that was not retained during the merge, a duplicate client profile will automatically be created in-store.
- No Profiles Are Linked to a User Account
- Leads cannot be merged with clients
Contents:
Standard Merge Flow
To clean up duplicate records and combine client information using the standard merge flow:
- Navigate to the Clients tab
- Expand the Manage Clients menu

- Search for specific clients or scroll through your client list
- Select the clients you'd like to merge, then click Merge Selected Clients at the bottom right of the page

- Select the details that you want to retain. Note: If information is identical across the selected profiles, those fields will not appear in the selection window

- Save
Advanced Conflict Resolution Merge Flow
To clean up duplicate records and combine client information using the advanced conflict resolution merge flow:
- Navigate to the Clients tab
- Expand the Manage Clients dropdown menu

- Select the two client profiles you would like to combine. Note: Only two profiles can be selected at a time. Once you select two profiles, all other selection checkboxes will temporarily disable

- Select the Merge Selected Clients button at the bottom right of the page
- On the conflict resolution screen, choose which details you want to retain. An informational banner at the top of the page will guide you: "X fields have conflicting values. Choose which values to keep on the merged profile. Fields without conflicts will be combined automatically."
- Once your selection is finalized, click 'Merge profiles'
- Review the warning pop-up carefully and click Merge profiles to confirm

Immediately after the merge is complete, a green confirmation banner will display at the top of the newly combined profile. 
For more information, contact support@mytime.com.
Related Articles:
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article