In this article, we will walk through the promotion's general settings including restrictions when configuring a promotion.
Things to know:
- Auto-applying promotions are currently not supported on the booking widget
- Promotions are applied to the ticket's lowest priced item
- Businesses with several pages of promotions in any status can utilize the search field to look for a specific promotion rather than browsing through all of the pages. You can perform a search using the name or promo code.
How to Set Up a Promotion
- Navigate to Marketing > Promotions
- Select your location
- Click on the "Create New Promotion" button
When the Create New Promotion page opens, the first section covers general settings. This is where you configure your preference for the promotion. Fields with an asterisk next to them are required.
|Promotion Name||The name of the promotion|
Locations where the promotion would be applicable. If you want this promotion to be applied to all locations on the account, select the "All" option from the location filter.
|Description||This is a description field for your internal reference|
|Valid||The start and end date of the promotion|
This determines if the promotion will be automatically applied at checkout when a qualified item is added to the ticket. If set to yes, the option to select the restrictions, new clients and one use per client will not be eligible. You would also not have the option to set a promotion code or a barcode.
Enter a code to be used for promotion redemption online and in-store. You can create your own code or leave it blank. If left blank, the system will autogenerate one for you
This is an optional field to add a barcode. If a barcode is added, MyTime's POS will add the promotion to the ticket if that barcode is scanned. If left blank, the system will autogenerate one for you.
This is an optional field that can be used when the promotion needs to reference an external ID or tracking number from another system. If left blank, the system will autogenerate one for you.
|Calculate Staff Commissions||
Pre-Discount - Calculate the staff member's commission before the promotion is applied
Post-Discount - Calculate the staff member's commission after the promotion is applied
You can set your restrictions for the promotions here. You can select one or more from the list given:
New Clients Only - The promotion will only be applied to new clients
One Use Per Client - This promotion can only be used once per client
One Use Per Ticket - This promotion can only be used once on any one ticket
Cannot Be Used With Other Promotions - This option will prevent any other promotion from applying to the ticket
Membership Required - Only clients with a membership will receive this promotion
After configuring your general setting, click Next to move to proceed to the Criteria and Benefits page of the promotion setup. Learn More here
Promotion restrictions are limiting conditions for each promotion and allow you to set your preference for the promotions by selecting one or more from the list given:
New Clients Only
If selected, the promotion will only apply to new clients. If Auto Apply is selected above, this option will be disabled. If you apply this promotion to an existing client, you will receive the following error message: The (Promotion name) can only be used by new clients
One Use Per Client
This restriction will allow clients to use the promotion only once. It will not apply to the ticket if the client tries to use it a second time. If the promotion is auto-applied, this option will no longer be available.
When you attempt to apply the promotion a second time to a client's purchase, you will receive the following error message: The (Promotion name) can only be used by each client but was previously used
One Use Per Ticket
If selected, the promotion can only be used once on any one ticket. There will be no error message but the promotion will not be applied more than once.
Cannot Be Used With Other Promotions
If selected, this option will take precedence over any other promotion that is eligible to apply to the ticket, once it is auto-applied. This restriction allows the promotion to disable others applied before and stand alone.
If selected, only clients with a membership will receive this promotion. If this promotion is added to a client's ticket that does not have a membership, you will receive the following error message: The (Promotion name) required a client with a membership at the business
For more information contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.